Failure to request a certificate

Hi, I tried running a modded fabric minecraft server through pterodactyl.io and wings and apperently it could not find a authenticate my domain. I am very new to linux, and I just wanted to have a hassle free experience trying to make a server

My domain is: creamsmp.ddns.net

I ran this command: "Set the FDQN to use for Let's Encrypt (node.example.com): creamsmp.ddns.net"

It produced this output:

(I originally censored the domain, but now I realize it's needed.)

My web server is (include version): (I don't know)

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Ubuntu 22.04 LTS

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: No-IP

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): Yes

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): noip.com

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot): (No idea what this is)

You need to make sure that port 80 is open on your server's firewall, and that the port has been forwarded on your modem/router.

Make sure also that your ISP allows you to host servers on port 80, because some ISPs block it on their residential services.

3 Likes

How would I open port 80? (and forward it to a router)

Don't know, it depends on your internet provider and what modem/router hardware you have.

Something like How to port forward a Charter router | PureVPN might help you.

General networking and server admin is not an issue this forum can help you with.

3 Likes

I have a TP-link W2400 if that helps anyone. Not sure where to get advice to open such a port.

After I open a "port 80", will I be able to access the pterodactyl panel?

You should be able find such answer in the manual, please look at these links for the manual

1 Like

What do I do here?

You likely want External TCP Port 80 mapped to the Internal IP and Internal TCP Port 80 of your server