SSL Certificate within an university network (only can be reached if you are in the VPN)

Hello there,

I have a question. I am a student developer at an university and I have to set up an ERP-System on a Server within the network of out university. You can only reach it through the VPN, with which you connect to the network of the university. We are running an MS-Dynamics Server on the Server and I can set a redirection from http to https, so the website should be safe. Now, how do I order an certificate, as this is no public available website with a bought Domain Name, but a website within a specific network? I need this because some webbrowsers do not even give you the option to enter a website without a certificate, but we will have to ensure that every student is able to connect to the server once they are in the vpn.

Would be nice if anyone could help me out as I am a bloody beginner regarding ssl-certificates.

Kind regards!

My domain is: the IP of the VM/Server Instance (can't public this now)

I ran this command: X

It produced this output: X

My web server is (include version): X

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Windows Server 2022 21H2

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: X

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): Yeah, I guess

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): X

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot): X

Is it a publicly available domain, but with a host not reachable from the world wide web? Of is even the domain name not public?

3 Likes

Rather the first instance. It is a domain (IP of our Server + / + Instance Name) the students will get. It is just not available via WWW, but via VPN Connection.

You can use dns-01 validation, then.

I hope your DNS provider has an API to update your txt records.

2 Likes

Hey,