Moving from one EC2 host to another

My domain is: 7cubed.ca

I ran this command: n/a

It produced this output: n/a

My web server is (include version): Apache/2.2.34 (Unix)

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Amazon Linux AMI release 2017.09

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: n/a

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): Yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

I’m new to AWS, and am in the process of moving my domains/webhosting to an EC2 server. I realized that I screwed up my first instance, so I’m starting a fresh one. I had created a certificate with the old host, using Certbot, which naturally has a different IP. Do I need to cancel the existing cert, and get a new one?

If you have already canceled the certificate/server, you can definitely another one.

You can get a new cert if you didn’t hit the rate limit.

Thank you

Thanks Steven :slight_smile: I haven’t actually cancelled the old one yet; wanted to check first. I doubt I’ve hit any limits yet, only registered one cert so far.

You don’t need to delete or revoke the original - there’s no problem having multiple identical or overlapping certificates active at the same time, as long as you don’t hit rate limits for generating them. In fact, this is a somewhat common scenario for load-balanced servers. Deletion/revocation has no effect on the rate limits anyway.

You can keep the old certificate and install it onto the new host. You can keep the entire /etc/letsencrypt directory, which will have the certificates and account information. The cert is tied to your Domain Name, not the IP Address.