I'm totally lost

I’m a small business owner that created my own website, and it is hosted by ipowerweb. I received my beta invite today from let’s encrypt and saw the instructions–I don’t have any clue whatsoever how to install my let’s encrypt certificate.

I’m assuming that there are many small business owners like myself that, when let’s encrypt is widely available, will be in this same situation.

Can anyone point me to step by step directions? I’m used to signing into my web hosting account and putting my website files in the public html folder. Other than that, I don’t even know where to start.

Thank you in advance for being patient with me.

Hi @imaref, in your case you probably don’t have enough control over your web site and hosting environment to use our services directly. All of our current technology is aimed at system administrators, who run and control the computers that are hosting various web sites and services, and who are able to – for example – install and run additional software on those servers, and reconfigure their web server software. As a subscriber to a web hosting service, you likely don’t have low-level enough access to the server computers that are hosting your site to do the things that would be required.

We do want our services to be useful to people in your situation, but we think the way this will happen is by having hosting providers (like ipowerweb, in your case) adopt our technology and obtain and install the certificates on behalf of their subscribers. We hope that they will and that they will be able to use our certificates to make HTTPS easy and automatic for every subscriber.