I ran this command: sudo certbot

It produced this output:
The following errors were reported by the server
Domain www.jasper123.co.uk
type dns
detail Dns problem: NXDOMAIN looking up A for www.jasper123.co.uk
- check that a DNS record exists for this domain

My web server is (include version): nginx 1.20.0

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Amazon linux 2 (4.14.241

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: Amazon Web Services

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): yes

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot): 1.11.0

This problem occurred after I switched from a ubuntu based Linux system to the amazon one. I revoked the certificate on the ubuntu system and tried to acquire a new one for my original domain on the Amazon one.

Im quite new to SSL certificates so any help would be appreciated.

Greetings
Jasper De Smet

Hi @DankyeKang, and welcome to the LE community forum :slight_smile:

Welcome aboard!

This is not an SSL/TLS problem (it's a DNS problem):

and it will prevent the process from continuing.

I see that an IP is now resolving for it (maybe that was a temporary DNS synchronization issue).

Name:    www.jasper123.co.uk
Address: 15.188.227.241

Please retry the certbot command in test mode (with --dry-run).

Hi @rg305

Thanks for the quick reply,

I tried the command sudo certbot --dry-run
I get the error message that dry-run currently only works with the certonly or renew subcommand
I tried them both. Both stated that the dry-run was successful.

When i try the sudo certbot command without the --dryrun option
i still get the same error message

Unfortunately, I'm still not quite sure where to go from here.
It seems I have the certificate and it's stored in /etc/letsencrypt/live/www.jasper123.co.uk