Auto Renew Certificate

My domain is: freshiecelebrant.com

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: Crazy Domain

I want to set up my certificate to renew automatically. I am a graphic designer, not a developer so I have no idea how this would be done. Can you talk me through it. Thanks.

2 Likes

Hi @jonmiller07,

There are a couple of certificates for this domain issued at various times, the most recent one 10 days ago on March 9.

(This one has an issue that it doesn't include www.freshiecelebrant.com, so people using many browsers—though perhaps not Google Chrome—will get an error when they try to access the site using the www form.)

Were you involved in obtaining this certificate? Do you know how it was issued or by whom?

How do you administer this site? What kind of level of access or responsibility do you have for configuring the site and server?

As of September 2019 we had a report that Crazy Domains's support for Let's Encrypt on their hosting plans was poor and would not allow automated renewals

I don't know if things have improved since then. There is also a less conclusive thread from 2020

with the same suggestion (that Crazy Domains may intentionally make it impossible to use automated renewal with Let's Encrypt certificates, because they want to sell you a certificate).

2 Likes

Hello

Thank you very much for your email here. This is all a little tech and confusing for myself, so all help is very much appreciated.

So I am using a service called SSL Zen. They had a free service, but that needed to be updated manually every 90 days, so we went for the paid service.

Do you know if that automatically updates?

And as for the www. version not having the SSL cert...can you give me direction on how to add that version as well? Does it need 2 seperate certificates?

That may be right about Crazy Domains, they are trying to sell their own version for a rather expensive price, so we went elsewhere.

Any more help you can give here will be amazing.