Basice cert renewal question

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. crt.sh | example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is: sswormwood.com

I ran this command: n/a

It produced this output: n/a

My web server is (include version): n/a

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Gentoo, current

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: n/a

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): yes

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): no

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot): 1.27.0

Question: I'm still new at this, and I've just received the first email with the subject, "Let's Encrypt certificate expiration notice for domain 'sswormwood.com'". I could be wrong -- this is my first time through this process -- but I thought that I had automated the process to renew the notice on this cert. So, two questions:

First, could that be right? How would I check? Some call(s) to the certbot process?

If I'm wrong, and my cert is actually not renewing automatically, where's the process to handle renewal? That hasn't been explained in the email I received. It would be nice if it were.

Thanks,
Michael

With Gentoo, the Certbot ebuild does not install a cronjob for you automatically, so you'd have to add that manually. Did you do that? If so, what's the cronjobs content?

The expiry email is very general and can't explain everything for every ACME client and situation out there. Usually, guides will tell you to add a cronjob, such as the official Certbot guide at Certbot Instructions | Certbot.

8 Likes