Would greatly appreciate easy-to-understand instructions to re-certify an email server

Hi Folks,

Is there anyone who can tell me, step-by-step, how to
renew a Let’s Encrypt certificate for my email server?

My email server, the latest version Postfix – as of
January 2018 – on Unbuntu 16.04, was programmed
to auto-renew the certificate, but that program is
apparently not working correctly. (The programmer
who installed the auto-recertify program is no
longer available.)

I’m not a programmer, so I’d GREATLY APPRECIATE
it if you could tell me, in layman’s terms:

1. What software (tools) I need to safely verify that
    my certificate is now invalid (I’m past the date the
    certificate needed to be re-certified.)

2. What I need to do, step-by-step, to re-certify the
    the email server, including what tool(s) I need to
    use.

Here’s other info on the install:

*I use the server for email only – there’s no Web site
*The server is: turquoise.dysartnewsmedia.com
*The programmer used the Linux command line
to program the installation

• I received an email from Let’s Encrypt that the certification
    expires yesterday, April 4, 2018

Many thanks for any help.

-Joe

Hi @JoeD5243,

Some good news for you, though not for Internet security as a whole: as of today, certificate validity isn't usually checked for mail servers, very differently from the situation for web servers. If you go to a web site with an invalid certificate, like https://expired.badssl.com/, you'll normally see an alarming warning message in your web browser. There isn't yet a widespread equivalent for mail server certificate validity checking, so your current problem isn't certain to cause you any practical issues right away. Most other e-mail servers will probably be willing to ignore the certificate problem and deliver e-mail to you anyway.

However, it's still great that you want to get your certificate problem fixed!

The "easy" way is to look at the contents of