Windows tries to regularly open Certbot file and fails

Hello all

I am very new to Certbot and Lets Encrypt so I am sorry for the lack of experience. Currently I have no problems with my domain or my web server. My problem is that roughly every 4-5 hours Windows tries to open the Certbot file that I have located in my System32 folder. It always fails and as far as I can tell it is empty. I was wondering if someone could explain to me what is it trying to and how can I help it or make it stop. I've tried making it open with the command prompt but it still fails

My domain is:

I ran this command:None

It produced this output:The Program you have selected cannot be associated with this file type. Please choose a different program

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):Windows

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know): Yes

I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

The version of my client is certbot 1.17.0

1 Like

Welcome to the Let's Encrypt Community :slightly_smiling_face:

That's probably the scheduled certificate renewal task.

@webprofusion, @rmbolger

Any thoughts here fellas?

1 Like

Why is there a certbot related file in your System32 folder? That's generally limited to Windows OS related files. The certbot installer for Windows places files in C:\Program Files (x86)\Certbot.

I don't think this is related to the scheduled task because the one created by the installer has two daily triggers; one at 12am and one at 12pm, but both with random 12 hour delays. So every 4-5 hours would be too often for the task to be the cause.

1 Like

Sorry I wish I could tell you as well. I am not really sure. But if that's the case I am going to try to delete it and see if I still have the same issue

1 Like