What Happens When My Certificate Expires?

Hello,

Currently, I have an SSL certificate solely for logging on Webmin via https. I also have another SSL certificate for my actual Website.

The SSL certificate for Webmin is under the domain www.resurrectedhair.net whereas for my website it’s under resurrectedhair.net.

I am trying to update the Webmin certificate so that the domain doesn’t show “www” but from my understanding, once a certificate issued there’s no way to change the domain name.

If I deliberately wait until the certificate expires 3 months from now, will I be able to request a new certificate but only this time under a NEW domain name, which doesn’t contain the subdomain “www”?

Any help would be kindly appreciated as I am still new to encryption!

Joe

It sounds like you may be trying to keep your Webmin control panel secret by not showing the hostname (“www”) in your main certificate. Is that true? If so, this is probably not a worthwhile security measure. The “www” domain is easy to guess, and your login is password protected anyhow. I’d recommend continuing to use both www.resurrectedhair.net and resurrectedhair.net on a single certificate, and have them both show your website.

If this is indeed what you want to do, you don’t need to wait 3 months. So long as you haven’t hit your rate limits, you can issue new, separate certificates today. Once you’ve done that, you won’t want to wait 3 months between renewals. You should renew every 2 months, to ensure you have a month of leeway in case anything goes wrong. Ideally your software should be able to automate this for you.

Hi jsha,

Thank you for responding.