Renew --manual question

General question here:

I used certbot manual DNS validation, but when I run sudo certbot renew --dry-run it fails and gives an error since it is the manual plugin.

I am wondering if certbot should disable the attempt at automatic renewals if someone uses --manual.

Usually one would include manual auth hook script to perform the manual actions. Otherwise, you’re correct, the use of --manual for automated renewals is destined for failure. Certbot actually does prevent these attempts, hence the error you’re getting, as it realizes that there is nobody to take the manual steps required.

I normally would also like to set it up to autorenew, but I’ve been having a really tough time with it. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m relatively new to LetsEncrypt stuff or not.

I’m using AWS and configured a security group, so the site is not publicly accessible. Because of this, I decided to use --manual for DNS validation. However, I see from lots of Google searching that the --dns-route53 plugin is not actually included with cerbot, and trying to install it led me down various rabbit holes (e.g. pip vs. Docker). So I pretty much gave up on renewals for now until there is some more streamlined way for Route53.

Is --manual-auth-hook pretty much just a custom config that would do the same thing as the --dns-route53 plugin would?

You might be better off using a different client. acme.sh, for example, supports Route53 natively.

I was looking at third party clients, but I’m a little apprehensive using third party scripts for things like that. I am fine with doing it manually until the official --dns-route53 plugin starts working.

Hi @arisbanach

Official Route 53 from certbot is here already…

Thank you

Yeah, the source code is. But a rather "normal" way of installing it isn't.

The "Setup" part from the README is rather.. Well.. Useless for regular users.
"Create a virtual environment"? Say what? How? Why? How again?