Recommendation for a new feature

Hello,

I am a software developer with an IT security background.

I love what your organization does, i.e. protecting users against IT vulnerabilities and giving free SSL to website owners.

As a well-known Certificate Authority, I recommend that you also provide free S/MIME certificates to users. Many businesses, especially start-ups, cannot afford the best cybersecurity experts or equipment, resulting in a higher risk for breaches and vulnerabilities.

With the rising number of viruses using email to infect users and entities, the need for using S/MIME, and the protection it offers has become crucial, thus my recommendation.

I am happy to discuss further if needed.

Best regards,

4 Likes

I totally agree with you; and would be willing to devote real time and resources into such an effort.
To me, this just seems like a continued missed huge opportunity by those that could champion it for much needed encryption, authentication, and repudiation - where it now hurts the most (emails).

In fact, I was up late last night/this morning researching and testing how to use Microsoft PKI for S/MIME. So far it hasn't been very fruitful :frowning:
The cheapest S/MIME certs I found online are $55 for 3 years/per user.
So a small (50 user) email business would cost $2750 [$76/month (36 months prepaid)] and would not even include automated renewals.

4 Likes

Look at the date and time:

3 Likes

These outrages prices make me sick!
Someone really needs to take this seriously:

Those prices are PER USER!

2 Likes

For what it's worth, I actually know of one CA providing free S/MIME certificates:

https://extrassl.actalis.it/portal/uapub/freemail?lang=en

There's a catch though: AFAIK, you cannot send your own CSR. They generate the cert + key and send it to you. That's extremly far from best practice... (Note that they're still bound by their own CPS, which clearly states that key material is not retained by the CA).