Privacy Error: NET::ERR_CERT_COMMON_NAME_INVALID

Hi guys.
Newbie here, first time with Let’s Encrypt and first post. :slight_smile: I’ve searched the forums here (and googled) but not found a solution to my specific problem.

URL = https://fishingholidaysmaldives.com - Fishing Holidays Maldives
Domain via Godaddy, site hosted on shared Vidahost Cloud (Linux); Let’s Encrypt setup via host cPanel (using their online guide).

I am usually (but intermittently) seeing Chrome’s “Your connection is not private” privacy error: NET::ERR_CERT_COMMON_NAME_INVALID for my site and the WP admin.
I see this using different devices and different browsers.
Viewing the certificate, I see it’s issued to *gridhost.co.uk, which is something to do with my host (Vidahost, owned by Paragon, using gridhost server for email).

This server could not prove that it is fishingholidaysmaldives.com; its security certificate is from *.gridhost.co.uk.
SSLlabs
Certificate #2: RSA 4096 bits (SHA256withRSA)
Common names *.gridhost.co.uk MISMATCH
Trusted No NOT TRUSTED

On the occasions when the site does load correctly, I see the cert is assigned correctly to my domain. However, refreshing the page and clicking within the WP admin, brings back the error after a few seconds.
Also strange in Firefox, is that when I refresh the page I see different versions of the site - one seemingly without the stylesheet, one without the background image, and then the normal page (and after a few clicks, the privacy error).
Annoying inconsistency.
Vidahost support have been great but cannot find the error (saying it’s local to me, despite showing on unconnected Win10, Android and IOS devices). But I think it’s more likely to be :

• I’ve made a config error (wp install, .htaccess)
  • the host’s cPanel auto-install has not worked correctly
  • my ISP has some weird caching

Thanks in advance for any help. :slight_smile:

1 Like