No more ISRG Root X1 in my pem?

Hello,

Yesterday I renewed my SSL certificates using the acme-php program, as I've been doing for over 3 years now.

I noticed that the size of the .pem file had changed, it had decreased

After deployment on my web server, analysis by a tool like SSL Checker shows that there is one less CA.

Before i had CRT <- R3 <- ISRG Root X1.
Now i have directly CRT <- R3.

Is this normal? Wasn't the ISRG Root X1 valid until 2024?

Thanks a lot,

Guldil

1 Like

There is more than one ISRG Root X1. There's the actual root certificate, valid until 2035:

Root certificates should never be sent explicitly, since clients already know them. Sending them explicitly just wastes bandwidth and does not increase compatibility.

Next, there's ISRG Root X1 cross-signed by DST Root CA X3:

This cross sign is included by default to enhance Android compatibility. The cross sign does expire next year. Therefore the plan is to phase it out starting early next year:

You should still be getting the cross sign though, since the above change should not have happened yet. However, it is possible to opt-in to the shorter chain for a few years now. Perhaps your ACME client explicitly requests the short chain?

Otherwise, it is also possible that web tools do not show the true chain send by server. To validate this we need to know your domain, so that we can check the chain using other tools.

7 Likes

Thanks to take time to reply.

my acme client hasn't changed since September, it's the same one (acme-php is a compiled phar file)

I forgot to mention that we need compatibility for older Android devices.

Do you think i can just add the part about ISRG Root X1 from september pem into the november file ?

2 Likes

We are investigating

5 Likes

Apologies, it looks like this was actually a small bug on our end. We should have the fix deployed in a few hours, and will update this thread again when it has been deployed.

7 Likes

Thanks a lot, i'll wait :slight_smile: