New User with Hostgator Hosting

Hi,

I am new to Let’s Encrypt. I have my website hosted on Hostgator. I found that they do not have Let’s Encrypt installed on CPanel. I checked with Hostgator helpdesk regarding getting Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate feature on my website. They told me that they can generate private key or Certificate Signing Request if required by Let’s Encrypt. After issuance of SSL certificate from Let’s Encrypt they will create an option on CPanel to upload the certificate.

As I am new to SSL thing, can you please help me understand the procedure for getting Let’s Encrypt SSL feature / certificate if I am Hostgator user.

Your help will be appreciated.

Regards,

Bishwjit

You can pop your CSR into https://zerossl.com/free-ssl/#crt and follow the instructions.

At the end you can download your certificate which you can install back into cPanel.

1 Like

Note that you’ll have to repeat this process frequently; Let’s Encrypt certificates expire every 90 days. (If you had access to the cPanel feature, it would handle the renewal automatically.)

1 Like

I’m also new and I have a question: to what directory should I upload the certificate in Hostgator? And after that, should I do any specific command or something like that for the certificate to start working? Thanks!

Hi,

I just wanted to check whether CSR will be issued by my hosting provider Hostgator or if I am providing the domain there is no need for CSR.

Secondly is Zerossl authorised by Let’s Encrypt to allot SSL certificates.

Your help will be appreciated.
Regards,

Bishwjit

If Hostgator gives you a CSR, that means they already created a private key for you, so use that CSR.

If not, not a big deal, it just means you'll be providing the private key to them.

Once you have the certificate (and optionally the private key), you have the options of either:

• Going to the Hostgator cPanel interface -> SSL/TLS and installing the certificate using the provided interface, or