New/old topic: certificate delays at Squarespace

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is: MIT.EDU

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: Squarespace

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know):

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you’re using Certbot):

======

I am a network admin at the above domain’s institution. A number of our users have
departmental and group websites hosted at Squarespace. Starting about a year or so ago, we’ve been seeing chronic issues with delays in securing those sites with SSL certificates when the site owner wants to use an MIT.EDU name for the site.

Squarespace help staff flail around for a long time, asking for microscopic changes in the DNS info we’ve created (compliant with their requirements), and occasionally they’ll indicate, when pressed, a claim that Let’s Encrypt certificate requests are failing.

On rare occasions, the certificate is issued within a few hours, on other occasions, the site limps along as “insecure” for months.