Need to generate cert for Windows Xampp install

Hi, I’m new to Linux and want to use Ubuntu to generate a cert for a Windows Xampp install since I have found no simple way to do it on Windows.

I installed LE from Github, and get “Command not found” when running the letsencrypt command. I believe the documentation shouldn’t be using the environment variable “letsencrypt”, off the bat if it doesn’t work without extra configuration. Instructions, or a caveat might help. I read somewhere to create an alias but that confused me since I’m new to Linux, and not great with its file system.

In any case, I successfully ran the script from the lets encrypt folder like another user pointed out on the forum. The arguments I ran are as follows (from the Get Started page}:

To obtain a cert using the “webroot” plugin, which can work with the
webroot directory of any webserver software:

./letsencrypt-auto certonly --webroot -w /var/www/example -d example.com -d www.example.com

I used this since I’m going to move the files to Windows Xampp. I don’t know what “thing” is, but assume I don’t need it.

The script seems to run. Then returns without notification of success or failure. Navigating to /var/www/example and there are no files there.

What am I doing wrong? Should I not be using webroot? I just want the cert and key file.

The correct command to run from a git installation would be ./letsencrypt-auto, from within the directory to which you cloned the client. Or, with your example:

./letsencrypt-auto certonly --webroot -w /var/www/example -d example.com -d www.example.com

Basically, anywhere you see letsencrypt in the documentation, that’s ./letsencrypt-auto in your case. The documentation is not quite consistent with that, admittedly.

Yeah, so I got that far. Any idea why the script terminates without notification?

Sorry, I thought that was for running letsencrypt, not ./letsencrypt-auto.