I can't understand how SSLProtocol, SSLCipherSuite etc. are set using certbot-apache plugin

Hello,

Web server : Apache/2.4.41 (Ubuntu)
certbot plugin : certbot-apache

After many researches on the web and in certbot-apache code (I am not a developer though), I still can't understand how SSLProtocol, SSLCipherSuite etc. are set using certbot-apache plugin.

In /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/domain-le-ssl.conf, I have the following :

Include /etc/letsencrypt/options-ssl-apache.conf

In Include /etc/letsencrypt/options-ssl-apache.conf, I have :

# Intermediate configuration, tweak to your needs
SSLProtocol             all -SSLv2 -SSLv3
SSLCipherSuite          ECDHE-ECDSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-RSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256:ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:DHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-SHA256:ECDHE-RSA-AES128-SHA256:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-SHA:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES128-SHA:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-SHA384:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-SHA:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA:DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA256:DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA256:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA:ECDHE-ECDSA-DES-CBC3-SHA:ECDHE-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA:EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA:AES128-GCM-SHA256:AES256-GCM-SHA384:AES128-SHA256:AES256-SHA256:AES128-SHA:AES256-SHA:DES-CBC3-SHA:!DSS

But, when I scan my domain using SSLLabs, the result is that my web server only works using TLSv1.2 and TLSv1.3.

My question is : how is it possible ? Can someone explain to me how certbot-apache plugin sets SSLProtocol, SSLCipherSuite and where it is stored on the server ?

Thank you.

RO

Exactly how you have described, using the options-ssl-apache.conf file!

I can think of two possibilities:

1. Your domain is behind a CDN (like Cloudflare)

2. You have some SSLProtocol in some other part of your configuration which is taking precedence:

sudo grep -Ri sslprotocol /etc/apache2

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply.