How to make a secure copy of /etc/letsencrypt?

My domain is: donutnetwerk.nl

Hi guys,

I am very new to the lovely world of Let’s Encrypt and also with using the terminal. I managed to get the SSL certificate installed successfully, but at the end, the Terminal indicates:

Your account credentials have been saved in your Certbot
configuration directory at /etc/letsencrypt. You should make a
secure backup of this folder now. This configuration directory will
also contain certificates and private keys obtained by Certbot so
making regular backups of this folder is ideal.

I don’t understand how to make a copy. Can anyone explain to me?

1 Like

https://linux.die.net/man/1/tar

A command like this should be enough:

cd && tar -czf etc-letsencrypt$(date +%s).tar.gz /etc/letsencrypt

2 Likes

Note that this is assuming that you are root. (A non-root user won’t have the permissions to read some of the contents of /etc/letsencrypt.)

By the way, I’m not sure whether that backup advice is useful to everyone who uses Certbot. We’ve certainly had some people on the forum for whom it would have been useful (because they deleted /etc/letsencrypt when something was misconfigured, and then ran into rate limit problems) but for some people’s use cases it seems like we might not have gained much from this advice.

I appreciate @kato.von.katz’s conscientiousness in wanting to follow the advice here. Most software’s advice to make backups is probably ignored most of the time!

1 Like

Indeed, tar will probably complain if you try that command as non-root.

I agree. A lot of the time is easier to start from a new account key. (By the way, do accounts get purged? IE, some time after their last certificate expires?)

This doesn’t probably apply to people with more than 50 certs on one registered domain name.

1 Like

I logged in as a root user and copied the exact command in the terminal. But I get this message:

tar: Removing leading `/’ from member names