Help installing SSL cert on a owncloud server on a AWS instance

I’ve got an owncloud server setup on AWS through Sain3. I can connect to it through http, but not https. I emailed their support on how to convert it to https, and they sent me a link to your website. I connected to the instance through putty and ran the commands per certbot, selecting apache and Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. The problem is I’m not sure what to put as the domain name. I connect to the owncloud server using the IP address of 52.42.140.69.

When it comes to setting up SSL certs, I have no experience.

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better.

My domain is:don’t know

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:AWS

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know):yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):no

You have to get a domain name to get a certificate, not just IP address. Many TLDs (e.g. .com, .org, .xyz) can be had for less than $10/year. Once you have purchased a domain name, you will use the DNS settings of your domain registrar to point it, or any subdomains, to that IP address. Then you can get certificates.

There are also services that give you a single subdomain of theirs for free, but it’s been so long I don’t know of any currently operating off the top of my head.

Some CAs offer certificates for IP addresses. Let's Encrypt is not one of them.

Yes, but this is a forum for Let’s Encrypt support. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Thanks everyone. I will get a domain name or a subdomain in my case for the owncloud server then try the Let’s Encrypt instructions after that to get the SSL cert installed on it.