ESXi certificate using Let's Encrypt

Thanks for your time and help!

I’m a technical trainer at a community college. As part of their training students install standalone ESXi 6.x servers (no vCenter) onto the Internet. They access the servers using a HTTPS/SSL in web browser. The servers have a self-signed certificate which generates a “site isn’t secure” browser error message. Each ESXi server has a Internet resolvable FQDN (we host the DNS) and a public IP.

I’d like to learn myself, and teach the students, how to use “Let’s Encrypt” to install SSL certificates onto their ESXi servers. In reading and researching I am coming up short on what is the best way to do this.

Question:
What is the best way to configure an ESXi 6.x servers to use Let’s Encrypt for generating and receiving an HTTPS/SSL certificate?

Again Thanks (and the students Thank You also!)
Randy Graves

Hi,

Personally, i haven’t use any of the VMware product yet…

So, could you please answer a few questions?

1. Can the server host a regular website? (to serve token files?)
  2. Does the server have shell access? (after setup) or they have a GUI to upload the certificate/key & install manually?

Thank you

P.S. i could find really minimum resources on the web for this server type, and i hope this link will help…
https://wiki.comprofix.com/index.php?title=Let's_Encrypt_ESXi_VPS

Steven,

Thank you for your reply. I appreciate your time.

Answer to #1.
The ESXi server, as part of its installation, includes a built-in web server. The web server is used post-installation as the management interface for configuring the server and creating virtual machines. The ESXi server it’self best-I-know is limited to only using its builtin web server, which is integrated with ESXi OS.