Do ACME accounts expire?

Maybe a better way to ask my question is - Is there any situation other than an action taken expressly by the account where an ACME account with LE can become deactivated or revoked?

I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this question ("No.") but wish to double check as I'm not new to LE but I am new to trying to automate everything.

According to the ACME RFC account objects don't have a concept of expiry.

If I create some scripts to automate cert renewal, do I have to realistically worry about handling any kind of ACME account expiry or do they just not expire? Obviously authorizations expire regularly and that is easily handled but I'm mostly questioning the ACME accounts themselves.

1 Like

Under normal circumstances, they don't expire.

It's possible for them to be deactivated without the account holder directly taking action, such as if the account key was reported as being compromised. Or possibly in a last-ditch effort to mitigate problems being caused by a poorly-behaving client or something like that.

I know somewhere I saw someone recommending that clients should plan on automatically creating a new account if the account that they were configured with had been deactivated, but I don't think it's in the "official" Integration Guide or RFCs. (And I don't think certbot does, for whatever that's worth.)

There's also this thread from earlier in the year, with some questions similar to yours:

6 Likes

That's good information and thanks for sharing that previous thread - didn't turn up in my search and hits the core of my question. Thank you!

3 Likes

I suppose that [at some point] the account encryption will be deemed insecure OR something else related to the level of privacy/usefulness will need to be elevated - nothing lasts forever!
And that may require generating a newer account.
[but that is just speculation on my part]

4 Likes