Dns verification fails?

Hello, I’m new to LE, trying to create a cert for my subdomain only (there is no cert for the primary domain). I’m running the commands on my dev box. The server is not up yet and will be using a non-standard port, so I want to use DNS verification. I’ve placed the challenge TXT value in my cloudflare DNS records, but I’m getting an error that indicates those records are invalid (domain name changed, log reduced).

I’m also not sure how to test of the TXT records exist because ‘nslookup -q=TXT subdomain’ will not work on subdomains, and ‘nslookup -q=TXT primary.domain’ doesn’t show all TXT records of the primary domain for some reason (including the one I added).

sudo certbot certonly --manual --preferred-challenges dns

Plugins selected: Authenticator manual, Installer None
Please enter in your domain name(s) (comma and/or space separated) (Enter 'c’
to cancel): sub1.sub2.example.com
Performing the following challenges:
dns-01 challenge for sub1.sub2.example.com

Please deploy a DNS TXT record under the name
_acme-challenge.sub1.sub2.example.com with the following value:
xxxXXxxXXxxXXxxXXxxXxXXXXxXxXxXxXXxx

Before continuing, verify the record is deployed.
Waiting for verification…
Cleaning up challenges
Failed authorization procedure. sub1.sub2.example.com (dns-01): urn:acme:error:unauthorized :: The client lacks sufficient authorization :: Correct value not found for DNS challenge

Any ideas?
Thank you!

this is not a issuance tech but rather a help

please fill out the fields below so other can investigate and suggest fixes

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is:

I ran this command:

It produced this output: