Difficulties with --manual-auth-hook

Ok, I try to make an automated script for my lets encrypt on namecheap. I’M NO EXPERT IN BASH/LINUX STUFF, BUT I’M A QUICK STUDY

I want to automate the certificate creation as much as possible, so that with one line I can create & validate an external domain.

So far, I’ve made a script that I called in PHP that changes my TXT for a domain under my guard on a distant server (shared hosting with reseller account). For exemple, if I ask my server to go to
http://exemple.com/?challengestr=ABC&domain=domain.com, it will change the _acme… TXT domain for domain.com to ABC.

So I made the following Bash

/usr/local/bin/sslauthscript.bs

#!/bin/bash
DOMAIN=$CERTBOT_DOMAIN
VALIDATION=$CERTBOT_VALIDATION

curl "http://exemple.com/?challengestr=$VALIDATION&domain=$DOMAIN"
wait

So when I call the next line, the domain and validation are pushed by curl to the server, the validation key is added to the server, and the ownership is validated.

CLI
sudo certbot certonly --manual --preferred-challenges=dns --agree-tos --manual-public-ip-logging-ok --manual-auth-hook /usr/local/bin/sslauthscript.bs -d domain.com

Well… it doesn’t work… the following URL is called: “http://exemple.com/?challengestr=VALIDATION&domain=DOMAIN”, as if $CERTBOT_DOMAIN and $CERTBOT_VALIDATION are never defined.

I’m pretty sure it’s a Code 12 (inches from the screen) but I RTFM all night long and Lionel Richie is not the solution.

Please can you help

What url gets constructed when calling the following:

env CERTBOT_DOMAIN=example.com CERTBOT_VALIDATION=foobar /usr/local/bin/sslauthscript.bs

This basically sets the environment variables and executes the script.

I get foobar : example.com on the server

When I call the certbot script I get that:

Error output from sslauthscript.bs:
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed