Certbot renewal, does not renew

Screen Shot 2021-03-01 at 11.52.04 AM

I've started with 'certbot renew'

Please see this original thread describing the original problems I've had with this...and how I scraped together a solution at the time. I want to avoid this going forward and have the setup foolproof and easily renewed automatically...

Hi there,

From the end of your previous thread, @Osiris said:

Are you confirming that you've tried that? [Note: I am not a coder, but I also do want to make sure that we're not retreading over ground that was covered previously.]

1 Like

Hi @brokenbricks,

Are these sites meant to be publicly accessible by the Internet at large?

They're all hosted on the same server, right?

Yes.

These are silly domains that host marketing landing pages, but of course they need to be live and working.

I've managed to hack together something again it seems.

I originally tried this command, as I had saved it in my notes from previous attempt as what should work in 3 months when cert expired.

certbot certonly --webroot -w /var/www/html -d pulsenews.online -d www.pulsenews.online -d dailytrends.digital -d www.dailytrends.digital -d dailypulse.online -d www.dailypulse.online

This produced the DNS error and 'unauthorized error'.

One of these domains isn't being used nor pointing correctly to the server so I believe that's what happened. I removed it and re tried the command

certbot certonly --webroot -w /var/www/html -d pulsenews.online -d www.pulsenews.online -d dailypulse.online -d www.dailypulse.online

This seemed to work and created a new cert for these.

The original expired within the hour, and all sites had errors and went dead.

I remembered the 000-default-le-ssl.conf file, and edited it, it was pointing to the old CERT still, so I modified it to the new directory. ( xxxxxxx-0001)