Cert error: common name invalid

Just installed letsencrypt to my ubuntu 16.04 apache2 dedicated server

I am being prompted “Your connection is not secure” with
"Certificate Error There are issues with the site’s certificate chain (net::ERR_CERT_COMMON_NAME_INVALID)."

Haven’t found much relevant info on the topic

.com through NO-IP.com

new to using trusted certificates…

I can’t even reach your server through port 443 completely…

But anyway, as the error says something about the chain: did you use fullchain.pem or chain.pem? Or just cert.pem?

Not sure… I’m new to using trusted certs. Always just generated self-signed
apparently fullchain.pem

Well, as your server isn’t accessible from the public internet, I can’t say what’s going on unfortunately. Or do you have your webserver run on another port besides 443?

No you are correct ssl is over normal port… was hoping using letsencrypt would stop the browsers warning prompt

I’m not sure I follow.

At the moment your site is DOWN on port 443. Not even a browser warning prompt…?

You’re right?? I hadn’t tried connecting off of localhost yet.

I’m just going back to self-signed… eventually I’ll have a reason to pay for a real cert

Euuuhhh, dude… The certificate in question doesn’t have anything to do with the fact if a server is accessible from the public internet or not… Self-signed, Let’s Encrypt, payed cert, that really doesn’t matter at all. It’s your firewall/server/router configuration…

Well I never had a problem connecting to port 443 before installing lets encrypt

so… how can I properly uninstall from linux

There also seems to be a lot of controversy on the forums of how this is done

Well… Depends how you installed it in the first place.

sudo apt-get install python-letsencrypt-apache,

I’m actually in the process of re establishing paths to my old keys in apache now

Have you checked the Apache logs before you decided to throw in the towel?