Acme challenge on local network

I have been attempting to set up a RMM server using TacticalRMM on Ubuntu 20.04. I do not plan on making this public facing, yet it requires a cert.

I have set up Webmin on Ubuntu 20.04 server running Bind9 DNS Server -- I'm fairly new to all of this but here is how it is set up:

Two master zones created one for my domain, in this case [example.com] forwarding and another for 10.10.100 my subnet for reverse forwarding.

I have three address entries in both zones - [rmm-tactical.example.com], [api-tactical.example.com], [mesh-tactical.example.com] each pointing at the RMM server. [10.10.100.21]

I changed the DNS server on the RMM server to point to my Webmin Bind9 DNS server.

The problem that occurs is when running through the install I get to a lets encrypt portion -- it asks about the three separate entries and main domain:

Enter the subdomain for the backend (e.g. (https://api.example.com/)): [api-tactical.example.com]

Enter the subdomain for the frontend (e.g. (https://rmm.example.com/)): [rmm-tactical.example.com]

Enter the subdomain for meshcentral (e.g. (https://mesh.example.com/)): [mesh-tactical.example.com]

Enter the root domain (e.g. [example.com] or [example.co.uk]: [example.com]

I get past this point then it asks:

Please deploy a DNS TXT record under the name

_acme-challenge.example.com with the following value:

tg2pUGffgCQeojg58V3Pw4jm3H5ZDQd2t3PxNLaflO0

I create a text record under the Master zone for [Example.com] named exactly "_acme-challenge.example.com" containing the value provided above.

I press enter on install and it errors Challenge failed....is this because its a local domain and letsencrypt is attempting to check with [example.com] on the internet and the text record does not exist there? It should be going through my primary LOCAL DNS server first at [10.10.100.10] (webmin Bind9)