Use the generated SSL certs with Shellinabox

I have created several Lets’Encrypt SSL certs for regular Apache sites that I manage. I now have to use an existing cert for an existing host name that I own, but to be used to better secure a “shellinabox” application, which runs on top of Apache. However, as I am not an expert in certificates, SSL and other SSL-related topics, I do not know what I should do in my shellinabox config files to properly point to the real SSL certs I created.

Hi @jfmessier,

If shellinabox “runs on top of Apache”, Apache should take care of the HTTPS termination for it. Did you install the certificates in Apache already? If so, what behavior are you seeing when accessing the sites in a browser?

When accessing the test page of the site (info.php) everything is just fine. However, when accessing the port for ShellInABox, I still get the warning about the self-signed cert, instead of the signed one. This is running on a Raspberry PI, behind a router at home. I basically want to get access to my Linux boxes over the web, as port 22/TCP is closed, and using another port like 443 will not work. Deep packet inspection…

Also to note that the Shellinabox config files seem to point to the self-signed cert, but when changing the config file to point to other .PEM files, nothing works at all.

1 Like

Oh, so ShellInABox has its own network listener? When you said it ran under Apache, I was thinking that it was configured as a web application.

Can you give an example of a hostname and port where your ShellInABox is currently listening using the Let’s Encrypt PEM files?

At this point, using Shellinabox or anything else does not matter so much as getting the cert created from a Raspberry Pi which is behind a router.