Trying to create a certificate for a RHEL internal server

I have been tasked with trying to install an SSL certificate for an internal Linux server that we have here in our office. It is hosting two Atlassian products; Jira and Confluence and I am trying to get them setup with an SSL certificate. We had this working on another server but it died and the developer that helped me with this no longer works here. I am not a programmer or a developer. My background is in hardware; I just took this position after being laid off from my previous position of over 25 years. The name of this server is “cowboy” (named by my boss) and when I try to run the “./certbot-auto certonly --webroot” command I get an error of “An unexpected error occurred:
The request message was malformed :: Error creating new authz :: DNS name does not have enough labels”. I think the problem is the name of the server and I have tried changing it to a different name when I was trying to get a valid certificate using the keytool commands so I thought maybe it would work better trying Let’s Encrypt. I am a novice at this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Let’s Encrypt is a public CA trusted for the Web PKI. Such CAs are prohibited from issuing certificates for DNS names that can’t exist in the public Internet like “myprinter” or “jiraserver”. They are only allowed to issue for Fully Qualified Domain Names like

Beyond this rule, Let’s Encrypt further requires that you (or a program like Certbot on your behalf) prove control over the exact name requested. Three methods of doing this are permitted, but all will need you to at least be able to make the machine’s name part of the Internet public DNS.

OK I will try a different name again.