Run letsencrypt as 'encrypt' user

Hey everybody, noob here :slight_smile:
Again here is somebody not liking that letsencrypt needed to be run as sudo/root. So here was my approach that I couldn’t finalize however. Maybe you can directly point out why this is a bad idea or give me a hint which other client could help me out.
I checked out the “No_Sudo_Client” in Python but it has the disadvantage you have to do it yourself.

My Idea was to create a new user encrypt with an priv.key and let him do all the encrypt stuff. As member of /www-data/ it can have access to www-data to do all what is needed. The server-certificates are then stored in his home dir. In my case apache can look them up over there. Or one gives user encrypt the right to access the default ssl-certificate storage.

In fact I do not unserstand why root access is needed at all (okay installing packages at the begining but afterwards?)
My scenario is not 100% save but I guess better then the root version.

So, how to make it real?: I wanted to install letsencrypt ‘local’ and that was my first problem. Is there no ‘PREFIX’ flag or so? Second: letsencrypt-auto needs root in any case and I cannot make it to run without. The stupid letsencrypt (no-auto) version, I cannot find. Where ist it located? (As I said: “Noob here”)

May some experts of you help me out?
Thank you very much in advance!
Greets
Ben

I'm actually happy with the security of my server being protected by root. I don't need a user with lesser privileges tampering with my certificates.

However, I understand there are situations where root is impractical. In those cases, there are lots of other clients you can use that don't require root. I'd recommend acme.sh, it's pretty mature and pretty powerful, and doesn't require root. You can install it anywhere (even in your home directory), and you can specify where certs are stored.

Using acme.sh, you can do everything as user "encrypt".