Revoking Certs created through ZeroSSL web interface for Lets Encrypt

I’ve hit the limit for Certificates on one of my sub domains as I am new to the technology I’d been using multiple private keys and generating new accounts per sub-domain. I was trying to get them all under 1 Private Key/Account and I’ve hit the limit of cert’s for a specific sub-domain. I’m sure in my rush I don’t have all the information to revoke them all but I can prove I own the domain and need the cert’s that can be revoked… revoked.

Is there some way to get this done? I’ve been using ZeroSSL to generate my cert’s via there web interface.

In order to revoke the certificates, you would need either the private key of your certificate or your account key. There is no other way to revoke certificates that’s available to you under these circumstances.

If you still have the account key, but not all of the individual certificates, you can try searching for certificates issued to your domain on https://crt.sh/, download the individual certificates, and revoke them using the account key, for example via certbot revoke --cert-path /path/to/cert_from_crt.sh.pem.

Since you’ve mentioned rate limits: If your goal was to revoke the certificates to reset your rate limit counters, that won’t work. The resource that’s being rate limited is Let’s Encrypt’s capacity to sign certificates (and OCSP responses for those certificates), and not the number of active (non-expired) certificates that exist in general. Revoking a certificate does not decrease the resource usage, so it doesn’t affect the rate limit counter either. Your only option here is to wait a week from the first issuance, so maybe you won’t have to bother with revocation at all.

It’s not that I have persay hit the rate limit zerossl’s message is I have hit the limit for that domain of SSL’s I can have…so I figured if I revoked some it would work again.