Renewed certificate working from browsers but not the command line

I used certbot with DNS challenge to create a LetsEncrypt wildcard certificate for my domain a few months ago. It's been working fine. I tried to automate renewal this week but although browsers (Chrome, Firefox) seem happy with the renewed certificate, terminal commands (e.g. curl, openssl) are unable to use it.

I'm very new to SSL/TLS stuff so it's entirely possible there's an important step that I took last time but have since forgotten about. I've trawled around looking for posts about similar problems but haven't found any that seem a close match. My sites are private to my LAN and not exposed to the internet, so presumably online diagnostic resources won't help, and I don't yet have the experience to know how to use the command-line tools that might help. I'd be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

My domain is: boxersoft.com

I ran this command: curl -I https://home.boxersoft.com/

It produced this output:

curl: (60) SSL certificate problem: unable to get local issuer certificate
More details here: https://curl.haxx.se/docs/sslcerts.html

curl failed to verify the legitimacy of the server and therefore could not
establish a secure connection to it. To learn more about this situation and
how to fix it, please visit the web page mentioned above.

I ran this command: openssl s_client -connect home.boxersoft.com:443

It produced this output:

CONNECTED(00000003)
depth=0 CN = *.boxersoft.com
verify error:num=20:unable to get local issuer certificate
verify return:1
verify error:num=21:unable to verify the first certificate
---
Certificate chain
 0 s:CN = *.boxersoft.com
   i:C = US, O = Let's Encrypt, CN = R3
 <<snip>>

My web server is (include version): nginx/1.14.2

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: N/A