Renewals with split-horizon DNS *and* geographically distanced hosts?

My domain is: pbp.net

I ran this command: N/A

It produced this output: N/A

My web server is (include version): nginx version: nginx/1.18.0 (Ubuntu)

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): Ubuntu 20.04.1

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: N/A

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): Yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you’re using Certbot): certbot 0.40.0

I’m switching over to Nginx from Apache, so I’m new to Nginx.

I have webmail.pbp.net and pile.pbp.net on a host that is in another state. Currently I manually copy the cert over to it every 88 days.

But I have my home internal network as well. “home.pbp.net” with several hosts on it for internal stuff, self-hosting, and development.

Each internal host uses an internal DNS server inside the home network, running pi-hole. Pi-hole has A records for the internal/home hosts.

What I’ve been doing is having 1 host renew the certificate (using Cloudflare-dns) and then copying it to the other servers, but now that I’m moving to Nginx it’s getting confusing.

I hope this makes sense. Ideally each individual host would be able to update its own certificate via Certbot without me copying a wildcard certificate all over the place.

Can I have each host also use Cloudflare-dns to renew their own certificates? example: let webmail/pile renew its own, let dev1.home.pbp.net renew its own, let printer.home.pbp.net renew ITS own?

Do I just use Cloudflare-dns plugin on each one and copy Cloudflare credentials to each server and just specify each servers hostname?

Thank you!

1 Like

Yes, this is a good plan. Configure each server independently.

3 Likes