Need a dedicated IP / Auto renewal available yet?

Hi there,

I’m totally new to this and still trying to find a host for my first wordpress site.

I’m not techie so this forum looks quite intimidating to me.

But in search of a host, I’d need to know

1. Do I need a dedicated ip to use the SSL here?

2. Is the automatic renewal feature currently available to everybody already? Otherwise, it’s good for 90 days only.

Thank you so much.

Hi @newtothis123,

① Almost nobody needs a dedicated IP address to use Let’s Encrypt’s certificates (or any other certificates). You only need this in order to support older browsers that don’t support the Server Name Indication (SNI) technology.

You can read about which browsers that would be at

There’s nothing in any way specific to Let’s Encrypt about this. It’s true of any certificate that you might get for an HTTPS site.

② Automatic renewal is implemented on the client side, not on the certificate authority side. So whether you can use automatic renewal depends entirely on whether the host supports it (or whether the tools you’re using support it). To put it another way, automatic renewal isn’t a feature provided by Let’s Encrypt, but only by various pieces of software that get certificates from Let’s Encrypt, or by various hosts that integrate with Let’s Encrypt.

I hope this helps. Please let us know if you have any further questions or any follow-up questions.

Hi Schoen,

Thank you very much for your reply. I now have a better picture of how this thing works.