Must use a public domain?

I am very new to certbot. I just want to ask a simple question. I'm trying to provide a certificate from certbot. I do not own a domain. I just want to use a dummy domain. But it looks like certbot only accept public registered domain? So I could not use certbot in this case right? I have to use self-signed certificate. Correct me if I am wrong.

My domain is:
php-helloworld.apps.ocp4.terry.com
I ran this command:
certbot certonly --standalone -d php-helloworld.apps.ocp4.terry.com --agree-tos -m hubin_82@126.com

It produced this output:
http-01 challenge for php-helloworld.apps.ocp4.terry.com
Waiting for verification...
Challenge failed for domain php-helloworld.apps.ocp4.terry.com
http-01 challenge for php-helloworld.apps.ocp4.terry.com
Cleaning up challenges
Some challenges have failed.

IMPORTANT NOTES:

My web server is (include version):
nginx

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):
RHEL 7.4

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:
N/A

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know):
yes
I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):
no
The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot):
certbot 1.11.0

1 Like

Hi @TerryHu82, and welcome to the LE community forum :slight_smile:

"domain ownership" may be an overstatement.
But certainly, if you own a domain you can get a cert for it.
But the opposite is not always the case.
What I mean is that even if you don't own a domain you may still be able to get a cert; So long as you can show sufficient control over that particular FQDN.
That is the case when public domains are used.
See:
DDNS
DDNS service providers

In short, yes it has to be a publicly resolvable FQDN (domain), but it doesn't have to be owned by you.

3 Likes