Lets encrypt ssl with www

i have installed lets encrypt SSL on my digitalocean.com droplet

while installing i created using my domain aapta.in and i want the ssl to work even with www

so do i have to install with www seperately or is there an alternative for this

Hi,

You could use a certificate that contain both www and root domains.

If you are using certbot, you could run it with the following arguments.

certbot -d aapta.in -d www.aapta.in

Thank you

i am new to this whole vps and ssl command lines - i installed SSL using below

sudo apt-get install python-certbot-apache

letsencrypt --authenticator standalone --installer apache -d example.com

I have also setup a cron job for automatic renewals every 90 days.

Now what am i supposed to do to make it work with www

I did as per your commands - i got to this point where

Do you want to expand and replace this existing certificate with the new

certificate?

(E)xpand/(C)ancel:

Please enter E (as to expand)

Thank you

thank you so much steven - i did that

now with regards to cron job

0 1 1 */2 * cd /usr/local/letsencrypt && ./letsencrypt-auto certonly --apache --renew-by-default --apache -d example.com >> /var/log/example.com-renew.log 2>&1

should i change any thing from above or - should i leave it

Hi @aapta

why do you use certonly in a cron job? That means, you have to install the certificate manual. Do you want that?

no - honestly i am not sure what i am supposed to do, i just followed a guide which i found online - please correct me if i am wrong

You should run 0 1 1 */2 * cd /usr/local/letsencrypt && ./letsencrypt-auto renew >> /var/log/example.com-renew.log 2>&1

Since renew means renew... certonly means a new issurance....

Thank you

Thanks again steven

one last thing

0 1 1 */2 * cd /usr/local/letsencrypt && ./letsencrypt-auto renew >> /var/log/aapta.in-renew.log 2>&1