Let Vendor Handle Subdomain

I'm fairly new to letsencrypt but I think I'd like to use it for the following use case:

I have a vendor that will run a service for us on learn.mysite.info (and some subdomains of that).

As part of the effort, they've asked us to create some CNAME DNS entries:

learn.mysite.info => dev.theirsite.com
cdn.learn.mysite.info => project.adobe.com.edgekey.net
lrs.learn.mysite.info => dev.theirsite.com

They also want us to buy a cert for (wildcard)learn.mysite.info and give them the private key. However, I would like to investigate using letsencrypt, instead.

Can you think of a way to empower them to deal with the *.learn.mysite.info certs themselves?

I have a theory that I could CNAME _acme-challenge.learn.mysite.info to their DNS so that they could create a TXT record to verify. However, I want to reduce the amount of guesswork on my part because I think they'll be more amenable to it if it doesn't involve trial and error.

Thanks,
Jamie

1 Like

Hello @jamiejackson, welcome to the Let's Encrypt community. :slightly_smiling_face:

They would want to use the DNS-01 challenge of the Challenge Types - Let's Encrypt.

Please see: Getting Started - Let's Encrypt and How It Works - Let's Encrypt

1 Like

Yes. giving a CNAME for the _acme-challenge will allow them to get their own Let's Encrypt certificate, but they'd need to know how to do that integration with their system. And for the non-wildcard certificates, if they're running a web site on that name they should be able to just use HTTP-01 authentication to get their own certificate, though again they'd need to know how to do that. And this: