Is Let's Encrypt SSL certificate a domain-validated certificate or EV certificate?

Hi,

I am new to SSL. Can I use Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate on my e-commerce website? Is it a domain-validated certificate or EV certificate? Does it work with both www.mysite.com and mysite.com?

Thanks,

Welcome!

Yes.

Domain-validated.

Yes, it can. You can either issue one certificate for both or two separate certificates. (Make sure, if you plan to do this while LE is still in beta, that you specify both domain names in the form.)

4 Likes

Wow, response my post in 3 minutes! Thanks,

Another question, why do I only get CSR file and the private key file when I run ./letsencrypt-auto -d www.example.com auth? just because I used a fake domain for test? Where is the certificate file?

sorry, but PLEASE start reading and think before you ask. (especially concerning the first and second quote)

for starters EV requires manual authentication of the entitity who is the target of the cert and the one who requests the cert about his authority to do so, also obviously a domain check will be done.
LE tries to make automation as good as possible which is plain impossible with EV.

also LE certs are domain validated, do you ACTUALLY think that you get a cert for a fake domain?
obviously it cannot be validated that you own that fake domain and vithout validation, no Domain Validated cert for ya...

OK, I see.

I used a fake domain for testing because I don’t have a domain name for my development box. I have applied self-signed SSL on my production server. Will the existing SSL setup conflict with LE client or make trouble with LE client? How do I switch to LE SSL certificate? Just replace the 2 lines in apache configure file with path to LE certificate and key files and restart apache?