Installtion of Certbot on compiled apache

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is: sonicspider.com

I’m a newbie and just trying it out… I have a compiled Apache located at /usr/local/apache

I ran this command:

certbot --apache certonly

It produced this output:

Saving debug log to /var/log/letsencrypt/letsencrypt.log
Could not choose appropriate plugin: The apache plugin is not working; there may be problems with your existing configuration.
The error was: PluginError('There has been an error in parsing the file /etc/httpd/modsecurity.d/20_asl_useragents.conf on line 292: Syntax error',)
The apache plugin is not working; there may be problems with your existing configuration.
The error was: PluginError('There has been an error in parsing the file /etc/httpd/modsecurity.d/20_asl_useragents.conf on line 292: Syntax error',)

My web server is (include version):

Server version: Apache/2.4.20 (Unix)
Server built: Apr 23 2016 18:22:29

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):

CentOS 7

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

Self

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know): yes

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel): No

Hi,

The error message reported claims that there is some syntax error at your ModSecurity files so that certbot can’t proceed to validation.

Could you please check /etc/httpd/modsecurity.d/20_asl_useragents.conf line 292?

Thank you

Here is that line:

SecRule REQUEST_HEADERS:User-Agent “windows-update-agent” \

???

That looks like a rule that’s split across multiple lines - what’s the next line?