Improving instructions for complete newbies

About two or three years ago, my webmaster sent me some instructions he'd written about how to change my website to use HTTPS and to also acquire a security certificate from Let's Encrypt. I never got around to it and I'd like to try again.

Here are the instructions he wrote out for me. Speaking as someone who taught themselves to write HTML and only flirted with Linux once, these instructions seem very arcane, even knowing that my webmaster knows my exact level of technical knowledge. I'm also looking at the documentation that's available and I'm not entirely certain that it matches the ISRG mission of reducing educational barriers to secure communications.

If you were to rewrite these instructions for clarity to a less tech-savvy user than who is normally installing an LE cert, how would you go about doing it?

---BEGIN INSTRCTIONS---

These steps are less intimidating than they sound! The only parts that are tricky for you, and that I can’t do, are working on your embeds in Step 1 and thoroughly testing your site in Step 4. Everything else, I can usually handle for you when you say “go."

Step 1: Take a look at how your site uses images, stylesheets, and other embedded content. If you have a page that links to an embed using an “absolute” URL like “http://example.com/images/image.jpg”, most browsers will not render that when the page is accessed over HTTPS. This is a safety feature to avoid “mixed” insecure content on a seemingly secure page. Links like that can be changed to “relative” URLs like “/images/image.jpg” or even “//example.com/images/image.jpg”. (You rarely see that last kind of link, but it does work.)