I need help creating SSL certificate please

Hi,

I am receiving this warning when I try to install this api on a Windows 10 PC.

This PC contains a database and is connected to an FTP server and clients connect externally to the FTP.
This PC is going to be published after installing this API. I created a CSR using mmc command in windows using this guide: https://www.entrust.com/knowledgebase/ssl/how-to-generate-certificate-signing-request-using-microsoft-management-console-mmc-on-windows-2012.

I want to now get the SSL certificate.

What is the next step? I am not an expert but I am trying to learn to get this task done.

Thank you so much!

1 Like

TLS (old name: SSL) certificates do not provide any security as firewalls would provide or provide protection from unwanted access. The only thing TLS domain validated (DV) certificates provide is authentication of the hostname and encryption of the connection.

With regard to Let's Encrypt:

2 Likes

Thanks for your answer. I have a firewall already but I need support creating the TLS/SSL certificate.

1 Like

The instructions for an Entrust cert from back in 2012 do not apply to certs from Let's Encrypt. The Getting Started page linked earlier is a good start to learn about LE.

For Windows, there are several ACME clients for getting a cert. The Certify The Web client has a gui, good docs, and a good support community of its own. It is probably the easiest to use.

7 Likes

Just to add a bit of general info:

• If you are sharing your service with other people your service will need a real name, not just an IP address. This involves having a registered domain name (such as your business one) and giving your service a name within that, then pointing that name at the IP address of your service. So if your business domain name was example.com your service name might be tintapp.example.com (or anything you want under your domain name).