Https connection problem on local network

I am quite new to networking and has recently established a Ubuntu 18.04 home server running on apache2. I got a domain from no-IP and obtained SSL for this domain with Let’s Encrypt. Everything works fine when accessing the server from outside of my local network but when I try to open the website from the local network it shows privacy error (that ssl certificate is invalid). It also works fine if I add my domain and local IP address of server to headers file in Windows (but obviously then it does not connect outside of the network). Is there any way to get my connection on local network on SSL?

1 Like

Hi @kwojcikowski

you have to use the external domain name to connect.

If your certificate has the domain name example.com, you must use that domain name:

https://example.com/

Nothing else. Not your ip address, not an internal name.

I don't understand that. What's your domain name, what is a "headers file in Windows"?

2 Likes

connecting with a domain name does work either: image . I meant Windows host file ( the file when u can set up dns manually). I read some about NAT loopback, which might be this case but I dont know how to do that and not sure if my router is capable.

1 Like

You have to connect via the name (not the IP).
If the name resolves to the external IP, you can override that resolution locally in your hosts file or within your local DNS server.

1 Like

You will need to show the URL or the cert provided by that error message.

1 Like

So I connect with my server using public domain which is bound to my IP address. If I am on the same local network as my server I get information about invalid certificate. How to avoid this?

What is the certificate provided?
What is the IP resolved by the public name?

1 Like

The certificate itself work well on the outside of the local network (you can check anton.bounceme.net) but within the local I get the following :