How to go from the CSR file to SSL certificate?

My apologies if this is a primitive question, I am quite new to the world of SSL. I’ve ran

sudo certbot certonly --standalone -d my.domain.com

to obtain a certificate for RStudio Shiny Pro server. My port 80 was already assigned to the said server, so from what I can gather the installer could not complete (there is no /etc/letsencrypt/live folder, for example). On the other hand, I have a .CSR file, which I understand is a preliminary step towards obtaining a certificate. Unfortunately I cannot figure out how to go from CSR to SSL with Letsencrypt. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Usually, you don’t use a CSR you made yourself with Let’s Encrypt if you’re using Certbot, as Certbot generates its own CSR to use. It is possible to use your own, but strongly discouraged as this breaks a lot of other Certbot functionality regarding certificate management.

Could you please fill out the full questionnaire (reproduced below), especially the part about the output from the command you entered? My guess is that this command failed, if you already had a server running on that port. Standalone mode attempts to spin up its own web server, but it can’t if the port is in use already.

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is:

I ran this command:

It produced this output:

My web server is (include version):

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):

My hosting provider, if applicable, is:

I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don’t know):

I’m using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):

Hi @autarkie,