Getting/Using/Managing SSL certificates for internal network

Please fill out the fields below so we can help you better. Note: you must provide your domain name to get help. Domain names for issued certificates are all made public in Certificate Transparency logs (e.g. https://crt.sh/?q=example.com), so withholding your domain name here does not increase secrecy, but only makes it harder for us to provide help.

My domain is: luminous,ops

I ran this command: n/a

It produced this output: n/a

My web server is (include version): n/a

The operating system my web server runs on is (include version): n/a

My hosting provider, if applicable, is: n/a

I can login to a root shell on my machine: no

I’m using a control panel to manage my site: no

The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you’re using Certbot): n/a

Most of these i responded n/a as i’m just getting started, and seek guidance getting on the right path.

Currently, my internal network consists of 36 devices, connected either by gigabit ethernet, and/or 2.4ghz wifi…

Of these devices, I use web interfaces to manage 8 devices. This is my primary concern. From the web searches, tutorials, readings I’ve done to-date, my understanding is i need to generate a wildcard domain certificate for the domain, then an individual device certificate for each connection. My experimentation thus far with OpenSSL have not as yet produced any favorable results. The SSL information provided by one of the device manufacturer hinged upon using one of their cloud solutions, which I was very much not inclined to resort to.

Long story short, I want to encrypt my interactions with those 8 devices, and likely more in the future. How should I proceed?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

If it’s a question of managing devices in a secure way in an internal environment, maybe a private PKI is your best choice.