DNS-01 challenge - CNAME/TXT Record incorrect Issue

Hi all,

I'm new to certbot so please forgive any rookie questions/mistakes...

I have setup two servers running certbot with the intention of using them as certificate staging servers for a wildcard certificate which will be distributed to clients on private networks.

In my Lab environment I installed certbot on an Ubuntu 18 server - version 0.31.0 it using DNS-01 challenge. (acme-dns-auth.py)

I ran the following command
sudo certbot certonly --manual --manual-auth-hook /etc/letsencrypt/acme-dns-auth.py --preferred-challenges dns --debug-challenges -d *.my.domain -d my.domain

I added the generated DNS _acme- challenge entry as a CNAME (as per certbot's instruction) to my public DNS server and it worked a treat the wildcard certificate and key was provided.

I then setup a test server on Centos 7 running certbot version 1.11.0
I ran the same command for the same domain
sudo certbot certonly --manual --manual-auth-hook /etc/letsencrypt/acme-dns-auth.py --preferred-challenges dns --debug-challenges -d *.my.domain -d my.domain

and updated the _acme-challenge CNAME entry with the new string and that also worked I got the certs.

However the _acme-challenge is now incorrect for my lab server. So instead of a CNAME entry I changed to a TXT entry and added both the challenge strings as they were generated when I ran the certbot command.

The result is that the Lab machine is now okay. When i run sudo certbot renew --dry-run all renewals succeed but when I run the command on the lab machine I get the following error

Any ideas why this is happening and how to fix it?
Thanks in advance

So, if I understand correctly, the situation is as follows:

• You've got an external domain, e.g. example.com;
  • You've got two actual servers, one for the lab and one "other", e.g. lab.example.net and other.example.net;