Did OpenSSL 3.0 break Certbot?

Certbot 2.7.3
FreeBSD 13.2
OpenSSL 3.0.12
Python 3.9.18
py39-openssl 23.2.0

I've been using Certbot since 2016 when it was still called letsencrypt. It's been working perfectly for years. But then I broke everything.

I upgraded to OpenSSL 3 a couple of weeks ago, and ever since then Certbot hasn't worked. I can't even understand the error I'm getting, but I think it's something to do with FIPS support in OpenSSL. But I have no idea what FIPS is! The error ended with:

/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/cryptography/hazmat/bindings/_rust.abi3.so: Undefined symbol "EVP_default_properties_is_fips_enabled"

I tried recompiling OpenSSL without FIPS support but it didn't make any difference. There's no ability to compile Certbot without FIPS, and I couldn't find a reference to FIPS in the Certbot manpage. The error also references Python and Rust, but they have no FIPS options either.

I've recompiled half my server and I still can't get Certbot to run. Does anybody have any ideas or suggestions?

The full error is:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/certbot", line 33, in <module>
    sys.exit(load_entry_point('certbot==2.7.3', 'console_scripts', 'certbot')())
  File "/usr/local/bin/certbot", line 25, in importlib_load_entry_point
    return next(matches).load()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/importlib/metadata.py", line 86, in load
    module = import_module(match.group('module'))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/importlib/__init__.py", line 127, in import_module
    return _bootstrap._gcd_import(name[level:], package, level)
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1030, in _gcd_import
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1007, in _find_and_load
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 986, in _find_and_load_unlocked
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 680, in _load_unlocked
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap_external>", line 850, in exec_module