Connection timeout using certbot

Hello, I’m trying to run self hosted a chat server using matrix and riot on pc. I followed this guide: https://blog.cryptoaustralia.org.au/2017/03/21/run-your-end-to-end-encrypted-chat-server-matrix-riot/
I’m encrypting, I get a connection timeout error. I’m using freenom.com for domain and I think the problem is in registering domain name. I left name blank, type A TTL 14440 and target my "public ip"
I cant forward port 80 so I did 8080 and 443. How do I check if they’re open. Is firewall the problem?
I’m using Debian Linux and I’m very new to this. Please help, Thank you.
Screenshot from 2017-10-22 12-12-29|690x469

Were you able to obtain a certificate with the certbot commands provided? What is your actual domain name? If you’re unable to use port 80, you’re restricted to using either tls-sni-01 challenges or dns-01 challenges. I believe standalone mode uses tls-sni-01, so that’s fine, but there is a problem with that tutorial.

The standalone web server will not be able to start if you have another webserver listening on port 443. You would need to temporarily stop your nginx instance every time you issue or renew your certificates. This is usually not desirable. I believe the nginx plugin currently uses tls-sni-01 as well, so you should be able to issue a certificate with the nginx plugin. You should be able to issue a certificate with certbot nginx instead of certbot certonly.

1 Like

No, I’m not able to obtain the certificate. Domain name is depiale.cf
I used certbot nginx and got an error: certbot: error: unrecognized arguments: nginx
Thanks for that quick reply btw, i really appreciate it.

No problem! First, my apologies, that was supposed to be certbot --nginx If that gives you an unrecognized argument, could you post the output of certbot --version?

1 Like

No worries! yes it does give unrecognized argument. version is 0.10.2