Certbot failed to authenticate domain for Nextcloud

I'm installing Nextcloud following these instructions on an Ubuntu server VM on Proxmox. I'm not a Linux expert, but everything went fine untill I tried to get a SSL certificate.

• My domain is:
    nextcloud.vanregteren.net
  • I ran this command:
    sudo certbot -v --apache
  • It produced this output:
    Certbot failed to authenticate some domains (authenticator: apache). The Certificate Authority reported these problems:
    Domain: nextcloud.vanregteren.net
    Type: unauthorized
    Detail: During secondary validation: 84.245.10.94: Invalid response from Login – Nextcloud 403
    Hint: The Certificate Authority failed to verify the temporary Apache configuration changes made by Certbot. Ensure that the listed domains point to this Apache server and that it is accessible from the internet.
  • My web server is (include version):
    Apache 2.4.52
  • The operating system my web server runs on is (include version):
    Ubuntu server 22.04
  • I can login to a root shell on my machine (yes or no, or I don't know):
    Yes
  • I'm using a control panel to manage my site (no, or provide the name and version of the control panel):
    no
  • The version of my client is (e.g. output of certbot --version or certbot-auto --version if you're using Certbot):
    certbot 1.32.0

I own the domain, I've created an A record for nextcloud.vanregteren.net. I've set ports 80 and 443 in my router to point at the ip address of the VM. A ping to to nextcloud.vanregteren.net reaches the correct ip address and if I go to http://nextcloud.vanregteren.net I do get to the Nextcloud instance.

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Any help would be much appreciated!

1 Like

Welcome to the community @Bert-Jan