Can't install certbot - Apache not working

Hi. I’m very new to SSL certificates and using SSH to install software on the server so I’m asking for advice instead of doing something stupid. Please bear with me.

I have a VPS running apache on CentOS 6.6 (or 6.7 i don’t remember) and I’ve successfully executed the commands

$ sudo yum install epel-release
wget https://dl.eff.org/certbot-auto
chmod a+x certbot-auto

They installed a few packages and updated a few others but then I received an error when I entered

$ ./certbot-auto

The error is

/root/.local/share/letsencrypt/lib/python2.6/site-packages/cryptography/__init__.py:26: DeprecationWarning: Python 2.6 is no longer supported by the Python core team, please upgrade your Python. A future version of cryptography will drop support for Python 2.6
  DeprecationWarning
Version: 1.1-20080819
Version: 1.1-20080819
/root/.local/share/letsencrypt/lib/python2.6/site-packages/certbot/main.py:496: DeprecationWarning: BaseException.message has been deprecated as of Python 2.6
  return e.message
No installers are available on your OS yet; try running "letsencrypt-auto certonly" to get a cert you can install manually

Does that mean I have to update Python? If so, does it affect my websites/emails/anything?

You should be okay. The top warning is just that Python 2.6 isn’t supported by the Python team anymore and the Cryptography library may eventually no longer work. This should be okay as long as you stay with the core repositories like you are. They won’t package a broken Python Cryptography library.

The second message is just stating that you haven’t installed any specific plugins, so you’re limited to the certonly method.

So you’re saying this code from the user manual will work?

./certbot-auto certonly --standalone --email admin@example.com -d
example.com -d www.example.com -d other.example.net

If so, I’m gonna give it a try tomorrow.