When and how to set up SSL during development

I am not having specific problems installing an SSL cert. But I am an SSL newbie with process and best practice questions. I am redesigning a website that is hosted today on Wix and I plan to move it to AWS. Questions:

1. Is it true that the SSL certificate can not be set up on AWS until the domain is pointing to the new site/server on AWS? i.e. I can’t set up an SSL cert on the raw IP and expect it to be in place when the new site is live.

2. If that’s true, does that mean I can only install an SSL certificate after the new website is live? And if so, is that dangerous? To leave a site unencrypted for some amount of time until the cert is installed?

3. I think things like WooCommerce require https to do testing. How do I test a site in development without https?

I feel like this topic must have been addressed in the past so please refer me to the thread if there is one. Many thanks for any help you can offer. -Sasha

1 Like

Hi squasha!

Welcome to the community!

You can use the DNS challenge type to obtain a certificate even when the domain is not yet pointed to to your new host.

This challenge type works by adding a temporary DNS record to show that you control the domain.

With this method your website’s DNS A record doesn’t need to be pointed at your new site.

You can read more about the challenge types here:

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the info. I think I am on the right track, but wheels are coming off. I was following this tutorial to install an SSL cert on my Lightsail instance and I came to Step 4 where I need to install two TXT records on my AWS server. I was instructed to confirm the TXT records are in place at https://mxtoolbox.com/TXTLookup.aspx but when I tried, it would only check a domain, not an IP address.

The other thing that is throwing me off is that the TXT record looks like this: